ONCE UPON A TIME

The creation of cachaça

The first batch of cachaça was produced around 1516 at the Brazilian coast. This makes cachaça the oldest spirit from Latin America, being older than Pisco, Rum, and Tequila.

MAL_Logo_black_transp.png
Mapa Brasil_1.png
MAL_Logo_black_transp.png

The Cachaça Revolution

​​In 1660 Portugal forbade the entire production and commercialization of cachaça because it was competing with its spirit Bagaceira. This started the so-called Cachaça Revolution. Only after one year of fight, Cachaça was again legal in Brazil.

The fall and rise of a spirit

​​​​Around 1800 the Brazilian elite labeled cachaça as a low-quality spirit for the lower classes, preferring European products. Only in 1922 with the Modernist Art Movement in Brazil, cachaça came back to light.

MAL_Logo_black_transp.png

The persistent Malandra

Today, cachaça is a Brazilian national treasure, known all around the globe for its drink Caipirinha.  Malandra crossed the Atlantic from Brazil to Berlin, because you deserve the authentic taste of cachaça.

ES WAR EINMAL

Die Entstehung von Cachaça

Die erste Charge Cachaça wurde um 1516 an der brasilianischen Küste produziert. Damit ist Cachaça die älteste Spirituose Lateinamerikas, die älter ist als Pisco, Rum und Tequila.

MAL_Logo_black_transp.png
Mapa Brasil_1.png
MAL_Logo_black_transp.png

Die Cachaça Revolution

​​In 1660 verbot Portugal die gesamte Produktion und Vermarktung von Cachaça, weil er mit seinem Spirituose Bagaceira konkurrierte. Damit begann die sogenannte Cachaça-Revolution. Erst nach einem Jahr Kampf war Cachaça in Brasilien wieder legal.

Der Fall und Aufstieg eine Spirituosen

​​​​Um 1800 bezeichnete die brasilianische Elite Cachaça als eine minderwertige Spirituose für die niedrigen Klassen, da sie europäische Produkte bevorzugten. Erst 1922, mit dem brasilianischen Modernismus, kam Cachaça wieder ans Licht.

MAL_Logo_black_transp.png

Die anhaltende Malandra

Heute ist Cachaça ein brasilianisches Kulturgut, das auf der ganzen Welt für sein Cocktail Caipirinha bekannt ist.  Malandra hat den Atlantik von Brasilien nach Berlin überquert, weil du den authentischen Geschmack von Cachaça verdienst.